Polenta

As the only person that reads this regularly is my brother, I decided I would be that person I hate and blog about what I’m having for dinner.

I was re-organizing my cupboards, as one does, and discovered that I could put all but one cup of the corn meal in a big glass storage container. Then I set out to find a recipe that would use one cup of corn meal, so I didn’t have to figure out where else I could store it.

Tonight I’m having Polenta, from http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/savory-polenta-recipe/index.html this recipe.

I have to admit, I may have skimmed the directions, and then taken some *ahem* liberties.

Firstly, I didn’t have a red onion, so I used a spanish onion. Secondly, I needed to finish the garlic, so there are between four and five cloves in it. Thirdly, I might have missed the entire “Preheat the oven” and “bake in the oven” part when I was skimming, so I did not preheat the oven, nor did I put it in the oven. I just cooked it over really low heat on the stove top for a while until it tasted good. Fourthly, I have a scale for yarn, but not a scale for food, so I just added cheese until I got bored with adding cheese. I’m not sure how much is in there. Fifthly, I topped it with cheese, and tossed it in the fridge.

IMG_1344

I haven’t decided yet if I’m just going to eat it, or cut and fry it up.

Leave a comment